Things appear to be coming together for a new solo project from Tom Morello. The Prophets of Rage / Rage Against the Machine / Audioslave guitarist has recently teased a project called Atlas Underground in social posts; according to the Australian retail site the Music VaultThe Atlas Underground is the name of Morello’s next solo record. The site also listed an Oct. 12 release date.

Morello's album is apparently laden with guest artists. His most recent teaser video contains a rather long list of names, apparently those of collaborators on the project. Among them are Skrillex, Marcus Mumford of Mumford and Sons, Bassnectar, GZA and RZA of the Wu-Tang Clan, Big Boi of Outkast, Killer Mike of Run the Jewels, Gary Clark Jr., X Ambassadors and Matt Shultz of Cage The Elephant.

A visit to Morello’s official website reveals a graphic of rifle sights aimed at a heart, with a telephone number (847-250-6573) superimposed over both. There’s a message at the other end of the call — first, static over what sounds like rapping, then a distorted voice that says, “This is a communique from the Atlas Underground. Those who do not move, do not notice their chains. Each generation must discover its mission, fulfill it or betray it.”

According to the material on the Music Vault’s page, Morello is calling The Atlas Underground “a clandestine sonic conspiracy of artists working in disparate locations toward a shared goal of creating a new genre of music.”

The Atlas Underground is emerging at an interesting time for Morello, as Prophets of Rage have just released “Heart Afire,” a new song from their as-yet-untitled second studio project. Bassist Tim Commerford said in a recent interview that the album is “a different direction. It's not the same, and I love that. ... We're growing and we're creating and we're going in a new territory, and I feel really good about it."

Track listing for Tom Morello's ‘The Atlas Underground’
(via the Music Vault)

“Battle Sirens” (featuring Knife Party)
“Rabbit’s Revenge” (featuring Bassnectar, Big Boi, and Killer Mike)
“Every Step That I Take” (featuring Portugal. The Man and Whethan)
“We Don’t Need You” (featuring Vic Mensa)
“Find Another Way” (featuring Marcus Mumford)
“How Long” (featuring Steve Aoki and Tim McIlrath)
“Lucky One” (featuring K.Flay)
“One Nation” (featuring Pretty Lights)
“Vigilante Nocturno” (featuring Carl Restivo)
“Where It’s at Ain’t What It Is” (featuring  Gary Clark Jr. and Nico Stadi)
“Roadrunner” (featuring Leikeli47)

More From The Basin's Classic Rock