Nirvana bassist Krist Novoselic has joined forces with Pearl Jam drummer Matt Cameron and Soundgarden guitarist Kim Thayil in a new band called 3rd Secret.

The group – whose lineup is rounded out by guitarist Bubba Dupree and vocalists Jillian Raye and Jennifer Johnson – surprise-released their self-titled debut album today (April 11).

At times, the band’s style stays close to what you’d expect from some of grunge’s most acclaimed rockers. Tracks like "I Choose Me” and "Diamond in the Cold” are heavy, yet melodic, with roaring guitars and powerful backbeats. Yet at other times, such as “Winter Solstice” and opening track “Rhythm of the Ride,” the material ventures down a more folk influenced path.

Listen to 'I Choose Me' by 3rd Secret

According to NME, back in February, Novoselic hinted that he was working on a new project. In a tweet from his since deleted account, the bassist said he was “really busy trying to finish a record. In the middle of some hangups - looking for a mid-March release. But it’s a secret, so don’t tell anybody!”

Two days ago, Cameron posted a picture to Instagram of the band on stage together at the Museum of Pop Culture in Seattle. Meanwhile, Raye, who also plays with Novoselic in the group Giants in the Trees, has been tweeting about 3rd Secret for over a month.

Full tracklist and streaming link for 3rd Secret can be found below.

3rd Secret, '3rd Secret' Tracklist:
1. “Rhythm of the Ride”
2. “I Choose Me”
3. “Last Day of August”
4. “Winter Solstice”
5. “Lies Fade Away”
6. “Live Without You”
7. “Right Stuff”
8. “Dead Sea”
9. “Diamond in the Cold”
10. “Somewhere in Time”
11. “The Yellow Dress”

Top 30 Grunge Albums

From Nirvana and Neil Young to Melvins and Mudhoney — the best works to come from the '90s movement.

More From The Basin's Classic Rock